Laureus World Sports Awards

Ali Shah Farhang, 25, along with Sajjad Husaini, 26, are in the mountainous Afghan province of Bamyan, famed for its historical Buddha statues which were dismissed by the Taliban in 2001.

Afghan skiers Alisha Farhang (L) and also Sajjad Husaini in the 2017 FIS Alpine World Ski Championships in St Moritz. Getty Images

Husaini and Farhang fled with their families to Iran to escape the violence within their particular nation. They returned as adults as the Bamyan Ski Club was established in 2011.

Lugging borrowed skis on their shoulders, so they taught themselves to ski down and revved the Bamyan mountains up.

After winning three national championships the set was training as slalom skiers in Switzerland.

Regardless of their lack of experience, both skiers qualified to receive the Alpine Skiing World Championships. They advanced after competing in four rounds of qualifying races at the giant slalom.

“That was the very first time Afghanistan was reflected at the winter months, and we are proud to be ice-breakers,” said Farhang.

Now the pair of skiers are training for the 2018 Winter Olympics in South Korea in the hope of getting the very first folks from war-torn Afghanistan to compete at the Winter Olympics.

This heartwarming tale has grown into one of those nominees for Laureus’ ‘Greatest Sporting Moment of the Year’ celebrity ‘ To vote for your favorite video,  visit

The Laureus World Sports Awards honour athletes and teams that have risen to the pinnacle of athletic excellence. Out of those nine types of awards,  the Laureus award for being voted for by fans around the planet in a poll that is online is the Laureus Greatest Sporting Moment of the Year. The award will be conferred into the defining period of this year which resonated the most with sports fans around the globe. Shortlisted from the members, these minutes symbolise the values of game and bring the message that game has power.

Fans can choose their second on the 1st of each month, from August to December, from a panel of six videos that are shortlisted. The five winners will then compete against each other in a different people vote that is international, with the eventual winner.

Released Date: Aug 01, 2017 05:35 pm | Upgraded Date: Aug 01, 2017 10:18 am

Cricket Scores

  • 2017, Basil D’Oliveira Trophy

  • India in Sri Lanka, 3 2017, Test Series

  • 2017, Basil D’Oliveira Trophy

  • Zimbabwe in Sri Lanka 2017

  • Zimbabwe in Sri Lanka, 5 2017, ODI Series

  • India in West Indies T20 International, 2017

  • Zimbabwe in Sri Lanka, 5 2017, ODI Series

  • India in West Indies, 5 2017, ODI Series

  • 2017, Basil D’Oliveira Trophy

  • Zimbabwe in Sri Lanka, 5 2017, ODI Series

  • SL vs IND – Aug 3rd, 2017, 10:00 AM IST

  • ENG vs SA – Aug 4th, 2017, 03:30 PM IST

  • SL vs IND – Aug 12th, 2017, 10:00 AM IST

  • ENG vs WI – 06:30 PM IST, Aug 17th, 2017

  • SL vs IND – Aug 20th, 2017, 02:30 PM IST

  • SL vs IND – 02:30 PM IST, Aug 24th, 2017

  • ENG vs WI – Aug 25th, 2017, 03:30 PM IST

  • BAN vs AUS – Aug 27th, 2017

  • SL vs IND – Aug 27th, 2017, 02:30 PM IST

  • SL vs IND – Aug 31st, 2017, 02:30 PM IST