24th National Blind Cricket tournament to conclude at Mumbai

New Delhi , Oct 27: Blind Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI) connected to Paralympic Committee of India (PCI) and World Blind Cricket (WBC) has announced the Mumbai leg of the 24th National Cricket Tournament.

The zonal tournaments which began earlier this month will end next week in Mumbai, as two groups will have four groups each.

Two teams from each group will be chosen on point basis and then they’re going to enter quarterfinals/ semi-finals and also to the Finals.

The champions from this tournament will take away the prize together with money award of Rs.50000 and Trainers will take away the Trophy together with money award of Rs.30000.

The 24th National Tournament is a platform in selecting the Indian team for its forth-coming 5th ODI World Cup in Dubai and Pakistan, that is to be held from January 7 to January 21, 2018. The championship will be organized by Pakistan Blind Cricket Council in association with World Blind Cricket Ltd (WBC).

Listed below are some highlights of this matches:

South Zone – The championship for South Zone has been played Calicut on October 12 to October 15 whereas six teams engaged. The groups are all Telangana, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Pondicherry, Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka. The groups in Andhra Pradesh directed by Ajay Kumar Reddy and by Karnataka headed by Prakash Jayaramaiah capable in South Zone to perform National Tournament.

West Zone – The championship for West Zone has been played Ahmadabadon October 16 and October 17 wherein five groups engaged. The groups are all Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Goa, Gujarat and Maharashtra. The groups from Gujarat headed by Ganesh Muhundkar and out of Maharashtra headed by Dilip Munde capable in West Zone to perform National Tournament.

East Zone – The championship for East Zone has been played in Calcutta on October 20 to October 22 wherein four groups engaged. The groups are all Tripura, Jharkhand, West Bengal and Odessa. The groups in West Bengal headed by Tanumoy Bhowmik and out of Odessa headed by Jafar Iqbal capable in East Zone to perform National Tournament.

North Zone – The championship for North Zone has been played Dehradun in October 23 to October 25 wherein seven groups engaged. The groups are UP, Delhi, Punjab, Jammu and Kashmir, Chandigarh, Uttarakhand and Haryana. The Team out of Himachal Pradesh missed this tournament due to heavy rains. The Team in Haryana headed by Deeepak Malik and Team by UP headed by Sanjeev qualified in North Zone.

Last Year, 23rd National Tournament has been held at Balsa and Cali in Gujarat. That has been organised with CABI. Andhra Pradesh won the national championship and Gujarat won the runners up the trophy. This championship aided CABI to pick up 17 good players who played for its T20 Cup in February this year.

The groups in which players fit are of B1 (completely blind), B2 (can see around 3 metres) and B3 (can observe around 6 metres).